facebook twitter pinterest google+
  • Deutsch
  • aurora bild 1

    Aurora

    Kinetic Sculpture

    Aurora is a continuously changing work of art, and words can scarcely explain how the observer gets drawn under its spell. For this reason, you should absolutely take a peek at the Video top right. You'll get really enthused and flip out with the endless dance of the Wings and the kaleidoscope-like ever changing patterns.

    Just like with the 'Northern Lights' - the Aurora Borealis - my Aurora will also enthrall all spectators with the ever changing kaleidoscope patterns and their hypnotic effect.

    Aurora is just driven by a Spring, which runs for 4 to 5 hours at a time. The control feature is governed by two 'Pawls', which exert the spring-drive pressure onto the Wings just at the right moment. The construction of this unique set of mechanics was quite a challenge, I can tell you, but it was worth the attempt in the end.

    The Wheels of Aurora have very large exterior dimensions - 90 centimeters (36"). That makes them into a pretty impressive appearance on any wall. Even when the Wheels are not turning and are still and dormant.

    Because of the dimensions, quite a lot of fretwork is going to be necessary to build the 'Aurora'. The components are designed in such a way, that you can work them with a my CNC router Solidis (with a 300 x 300 mm work face) or with a larger CNC machine.

    I am not selling Aurora as a finished work of art, but only as a digital plans in PDF format. You can therefore printout the plans yourself and build your own Aurora

    But, in addition to the plans, you are going to need the Spring too! And, you can unfortunately only get the Spring from me. Aurora can only function with the Spring.

    Owners of a CNC machine can get the dxf file free-of-charge from me, after the purchase of the plans.

    The plans and the dxf file are only in metric. At the end of the plans, there is of course a conversion table for the inch dimensions of all the gauges of the wooden components and the drill holes.

    aurora bild 2 aurora bild 3 aurora bild 4

facebook twitter pinterest google+
  • English
  • aurora bild 1

    Aurora

    Kinetische Skulptur

    Aurora ist ein sich ständig veränderndes Kunstwerk. Worte können kaum beschreiben, wie sie den Betrachter in ihren Bann zieht. Deshalb solltest Du Dir unbedingt das Video rechts oben anschauen. Du wirst von dem scheinbar endlosen Tanz der Flügel und dem sich fortwährend ändernden Muster begeistert sein.

    Ähnlich wie beim Nordlicht (Aurora Borealis) versteht es Aurora mit ihren hypnotischen und sich ständig verändernden Mustern, jeden Zuschauer zu fesseln.

    Angetrieben wird Aurora von einer Feder, welche für eine Laufzeit von 4-5 Stunden sorgt. Die Steuerung übernehmen zwei Klinken, die genau im richtigen Moment die Kraft der Feder auf die Flügel übertragen. Die Konstruktion dieser einzigartigen Mechanik war eine Herausforderung, doch es war die Mühe wert.

    Die Flügel von Aurora haben einen sehr großen Außendurchmesser von 90cm. Dies macht sie zu einer beeindruckenden Erscheinung an jeder Wand. Sogar dann, wenn die Flügel sich nicht drehen.

    Wegen Ihrer Größe ist jedoch einiges an Sägearbeit notwendig um Aurora zu bauen. Die Teile sind so konstruiert, dass Du sie auch mit meiner CNC-Fräsmaschine Solidis (300x300mm Arbeitsbereich) oder mit größeren CNC Maschinen fräsen kannst.

    Ich verkaufe Aurora nicht als fertiges Kunstobjekt, sondern ausschließlich als digitalen Bauplan im PDF-Format. Den Bauplan kannst Du Dir selbst ausdrucken und damit Deine eigene Aurora bauen.

    Zusätzlich zum Bauplan solltest Du auch die Feder bei mir kaufen, denn diese ist ausschließlich bei mir erhältlich. Ohne Feder, funktioniert Aurora nicht.

    Besitzer einer CNC-Maschine können von mir, nach dem Kauf des Bauplans, die dxf Datei kostenlos dazu bekommen.

    Bauplan und dxf Datei sind ausschließlich in metrischen Abmessungen. Am Ende des Bauplans befindet sich jedoch eine Tabelle, in der sämtliche Holzstärken und Bohrungsdurchmesser in Inch Maße umgerechnet sind.

    aurora bild 2 aurora bild 3 aurora bild 4